St Leonards in the newspapers, 1831-32

The 1 September 1831 edition of the [London] Evening Standard has a very detailed, and interesting, advertisement for auction properties in St Leonards. It includes mention of The Conqueror Hotel, West Hill, Mercatoria, The Lavatory [Lavatoria, the washing venue for the town], and Marina. Here it is below.

Property details from the Evening Standard, 1 September 1831. Mentions of property in West Hill, Mercatoria, The Lavatory [Lavatoria] and Marina, all in St Leonards on Sea, Sussex
Property details from the Evening Standard, 1 September 1831

8 Sept 1831, Brighton Gazette:

In our Assembly Rooms a Spa is fitting up, where may speedily be drank waters of the same properties as those found so useful at Cheltenham, Leamington, Tunbridge Wells, and other Spas.

15 Sept 1831, Brighton Gazette:

Several good families, to the regret of their tradesmen, have returned since our last to their distant and loved homes – one to Scotland, having derived both benefit and pleasure from their retired sojourn amid our ocean scenery. The Miss Hursts have arrived from Lincolnshire, and taken 41, Marina; and Mr Day and family the house vacated by Mr Elphinstone; the Rev. Mr Pott and family, 51, Marina; and Mr and Mrs Jemmett, 19, Marina; so that we have but a few vacancies to fill up, which, as our race days are near, and expected to be highly attractive, we doubt not will soon have occupiers.

The 19 September 1831 edition of the Sussex Advertiser has an account of Princess Sophia Matilda of Gloucester laying the foundation stone of the “new chapel”, St Leonards church, Underhill, with a brief description of the accompanying feast.

22 Sept 1831, Brighton Gazette:

TO BUTCHERS.—To be Let, with immediate possession, a Shop now occupied in the above trade, in the Mercatorie. The House contains eight rooms, and is well adapted for letting as a Lodging House, commanding uninterrupted views of sea and land. The proprietor would have no objection to carry on the business in partnership with any respectable Butcher, on easy terms. For particulars enquire of Mr Wells, 31, Marina, St Leonard’s, near Hastings.

3 Oct 1831, Sussex Advertiser:

HASTINGS, SEPT. 30. – The Princess Sophia of Gloucester, is still sojourning at St Leonard’s. – Had not the furniture of Bohemia, (the former residence of her Royal Highness) been disposed of, it is supposed she would have occupied that situation, her Royal Highness having, while she resided there, expressed her partiality for the house.

6 Oct 1831, Brighton Gazette:

The arrivals since our last have fully realized our expectations, and our furnished houses are nearly all filled; if the proprietors would divide those which remain unlet, not a room but would have a worthy occupant. One error on the Marina is, that there are near fifty houses, all suited to families with large establishments; and not enough of that description have hitherto supported by their presence our rising town…

Dr Harwood, a relative of the physician of that name, who wrote on the Curative influence of the South Coast, has taken No 10, East Ascent, and proposes to establish himself in a similar profession here [William Harwood was the author of the cited book of over 300 pages, published in 1828, with his address at Wellington Square, Hastings. The newcomer, John Harwood, was a brother or perhaps a cousin. In the 1841 census he was at West Ascent (probably no. 1), and in the 1851 census at Clock House, Maze Hill, and died “at his residence”, St Leonards, in 1854. He seems to have been a, or the, developer of The Uplands]

Lady McDonnel has taken the Clock House in the Gardens, a charming unique residence.

Her Royal Highness continues in dignified retirement at Gloucester Lodge, occasionally enlivening our fashionable promenades by the sight of her condescending smiles and brilliant equipage.

Quarry Cottage, in the garden, has been taken by a family for seven years.

Rev. Mr Wall and family have vacated 31, Marina, for their seat at East Acton; so much benefitted and pleased with the place, as to have lengthened their stay from one month to seven weeks….

Three or four physicians are here from a distance. We trust their own benefit, by a short residence here, will enable them with justice to recommend other invalids who desire convalescence…

The success of the hotels is almost beyond belief. A friend of ours, unsuccessful at the two large houses, only succeeded in getting a room on the third story at the Harold, a few nights back.

The chapel was opened for divine worship as advertised on Wednesday last. The Rev. Dr Collyer preached morning and evening, in consequence of the absence of the other learned doctors. The attendance was good, but not so large as it might and ought to have been. The place is built entirely by voluntary contributions, and has cost six hundred pounds: — of the building it has been remarked that there is nothing about it savouring either of meanness or extravagance. Benevolent individuals, residents and visitors, Members of Parliament, and three Clergymen have cast into the treasury; about 150l. towards the cost have already been raised, and an appeal towards defraying the remainder will be made to the public. A separate fund is open for the completion of schools… [the chapel was St Leonard’s church]

1 Dec 1831, Brighton Gazette:

Sir Francis Sykes and family have taken 35, Marina; Mr Hosier and family, and Miss Fielding, are staying at 38, Marina; Mr Springett, at 44, Marina; Mr Roberts and family, from Goudhurst, and Mr Briscoe, from Battle, have arrived at 33, and 32, Marina, for the winter; Mr Hore, from London, 24, Marina, &c. &c.

An enterprising young man has just opened as a chemist; and a first rate shop has been erected near the Conqueror, for the Messrs. Waghorne, of Hastings, in which visitors may constantly select the primest joints of meat.

Our inhabitants have not thought it at all necessary to establish any Board of Health, as there are no sewers here that require cleansing, or houses that want lime whiting; so should the much dreaded disorder which has devastated other countries, and made its appearance in our own happy land, on its northern shores, approach the larger towns and metropolis, a safe asylum may be found here…

15 Dec 1831, Brighton Gazette:

Quarry Cottage has been recently taken by Miss Stevens, for a term of seven years. It is a charming residence, standing on the hill’s side, with the gardens and fish ponds immediately beneath, and a view of the ocean from Beachy-head to Dungeness; an excavation through a sand-stone rock leads to the entrance hall. In its vicinity is building a castle which will be sufficiently commodious for a noble or royal family…

Great improvements and additions are making to the public gardens, which every successive season will become more picturesque and lovely. – The Misses Dyneley are rendering their Swiss Cottage the universal favourite.

We hear there is a possibility of a new road being formed along the beach from Eastbourne to St Leonards, which would form a drive of 14 miles the most delightful that could be desired; the expense would, it is considered, not more than six or seven thousand pounds, and it is proposed to raise the amount by the subscriptions of the neighbouring gentry. Our own spirited landowner and the founder and principal proprietor has generously offered 2000l. towards the undertaking.

29 Dec 1831, Brighton Gazette:

The unusually mild state of the season induces many of our worthy and respectable visitors to lengthen their sojourn on our inviting shores. Admiral Drummond and family have selected No. 27, Marina (the most commodious and most elegantly furnished of that noble range, which already numbers to 45, and will within another year extend to Nos. 104) for a four months’ residence. Mr C. Morris and family, after spending six months at Hodgson’s Hotel, are about to leave us for their town house. Mr Dorrington, M.P. has taken 43, Marina; the Conqueror is enlivened by the presence of the Messrs. Tulks, Mr Greenhough, &c. for the Christmas holidays. Mr James Burton gave a splendid ball to all the resident gentry on Tuesday evening, and on Friday there will be a public ball at the Rooms…

The gentlemen interested in this town held a public meeting on Tuesday in the Rooms, to consider the propriety of applying to Parliament for an Act for the appointment of Commissioners to regulate the lighting, watching, &c. and all other matters necessary for the government of this rapidly increasing watering place. A very unanimous feeling prevailed as to the necessity of the Act, and resolutions moved and supported by Captain Jeffrey to this effect were put by James Burton, Esq. from the chair and carried. A Committee of twelve gentleman and tradesmen interested in the town were appointed to act for the meeting, which was numerous and honored by the presence of H.B. Curteis, Esq. M.P. and our intended new representative, H. Elphinstone, Esq…

12 Apr 1832, Brighton Gazette:

It is with great pleasure we learn that we are again to be favoured with the residence of Royalty, Her Royal Highness the Princess Augusta Sophia of Gloucester having this year retained the Quarry Castle for some months. It is rapidly finishing, and is selected, as larger than Gloucester Lodge, which was Her Royal Highness’s choice last year. The Castle stands on an eminence, equally romantic and beautiful as the Lodge, and is nearer the baths and public promenade.

We are likely to have a new coach from Hastings through our town, running very soon, to do the journey [from London] in six hours, to be called the Red Rover.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Discover more from The Burtons’ St Leonards Society

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading